6 Ways to Build A Healthy Business Culture

I remarked to someone recently about an experience I once had with a client. I had gotten to know the CEO of this small company, and they hired me help collect customer feedbackAll hands 02 and outlining changes to implement as a result of our findings. To kick off the project we met with him and his leadership team. As always with projects of this type, we begin with a “discovery’ meeting where we discuss the company’s market, its business vision and strategy, and it’s customer approach. During this meeting I noticed that the CEO’s team of direct reports were almost silent throughout the meeting while this CEO commandeered the entire meeting. Instead of them taking on project tasks, he assigned them. Instead of answering questions, he answered for him (or he was directing them to answer). Clearly they had gotten used to him telling them what to do. It was an interesting dynamic. He clearly dominated his team. And doubly interesting, some of the research results about how the organization operated probably reflected this somewhat inflexible, top-down approach with a very strong personality at the top. You could almost smell the culture. It simply didn’t feel like a healthy organization. No one felt empowered to make decisions (or even to send out communications) without clearing everything with the CEO first.

It really got me thinking; what is a healthy organizational culture and how do you create one? I’ve observed many, many businesses and non-profit organizations over the years. In my opinion, some business cultures just seem to be more supportive of a healthy, growing organization. I thought I’d throw out a few of my ideas about what constitutes a healthy culture. So here are my top six:

  1. Open discussion. A leader should strive to develop a culture of openness. Over many years (and across tons of business environments) I’ve noticed that it just seems like organizations that encourage open conversations – about new ideas, about challenges, about how to solve problems – are the ones that have the most satisfied employees and the best results.
  2. Flatten the organization. An organization that s less concerned with levels and constant supervisory oversight is one in which employees feel trusted and empowered. Treated like grown-ups. As my first boss told me: “If I have to oversee everything you do, I’ve hired the wrong person.”
  3. Set clear goals and expectations. Let’s face it, most surprises in business are not the happy kind. Set goals – and make sure everyone knows what they are. Too often it seems like even companies with a solid set of business objectives seem to treat them like they are some top-secret state secret. News flash! You are keeping the “secret” from the very people you expect to carry out the mission.
  4. Share information. As above, organizations that I have seen work best are those that openly share information. They share information about competitors, the market, customers, the company’s strategic direction and goals. Employees feel part of the team when they are given important information. It rounds out what they know. It makes them feel informed and knowledgeable. And they can simply do their jobs better.
  5. Develop trust and respect. An environment of trust and mutual respect is critical. And that goes both ways. Employees need to trust their leaders to do what’s right for them and for the business. Leaders need to trust employees and let them do their jobs. I know no company culture is perfect, but ones that set treating each other with respect and trust (and then put policies and programs in place to support that) seem to be those that thrive.
  6. Align your measurements. As the old saying goes, “You are what you measure.” It is important to support the culture you are trying to build by measuring and promoting the behaviors that are in line with the culture. For example, if you design your culture around a customer-first mentality but then fail to recognize and reward actions that are truly customer-first, you will struggle to develop the culture you want.

If I had to choose an underlying theme for a positive business culture is would be: openness. A culture of openness feeds trust and respect and leads to information sharing and open, clear communications.

It must be said that every organization is different. What works in one organization may not work for another. It depends on the type of business, its size, the market environment, and the type of employees and leadership the company has. But, I do feel that there are some common elements that just seem to work better – and can be adapted to most environments.

Leave a comment below. I’d love to hear what YOU think!

_____________________________

I hope you are enjoying these blog posts. If you think there may be a way for me to help you and your business, please just drop me a line. No obligation. No pressure. Let’s just chat and see if we can help out. You can reach me at BCohen@IDiscoverConsulting.com or stop by our contact us page. I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in Business Growth/Strategy, Culture, Leadership/Management and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment